Things I’m a Snob About Thursday, Repentance Edition

Sunday evening begins the Jewish holiday of Yom Kippur (“Day of Atonement”).  It is the most serious and holy day of our year.  It is a time of reflection and introspection, repentance and forgiveness, renewal and inspiration.  We are currently in “the 10 days,” the period of time between our new year (Rosh Hashanah) and our day of atonement.  It is the time we especially focus on our sins and mistakes, ask for and grant forgiveness from our friends and loved ones, and generally reflect on what we can do to improve ourselves in the coming year.

I completely own the fact that I am a snob in many areas.  I’m not flaunting it; I simply acknowledge it.  Most people are, whether they admit it or not.  While I think everyone is entitled to their opinions, being ‘snobby’ about things does not make me a better parent or person than those who dissent.  I know tons of families who have Cable, Wii, Barbies and processed food aplenty who are raising beautiful, healthy, kind, respectful, “good” kids.  Ultimately, whatever my personal prejudices, living out one’s stellar values trumps pretty much everything else.  So to those I may have offended or upset, I apologize.

I am working on being more open-minded in certain areas related to other people’s parenting styles, and it is going to be my major behavioral focus in the coming year.  Let me be clear:  I do NOT think it is my way or the highway.  Plenty of ways to parent that are healthy and productive.  But there are certain things that I believe are truly not effective or productive, and I’m working on being open to people who choose those methods and learning from the reasons they make their choices.

What are some things you feel you could be more open-minded about?  How do you think you might be able to embrace the people behind the parenting?

