OMG This Might Kill Me

Oh lord the DRAMA.  middle schooler is home “sick” with stomach aches, etc.  Since it is the beginning of this 3 year odyssey I let him stay home, and we just spent 45 minutes organizing his subjects and going through notebooks.  He (like his mother) gets totally overwhelmed with big projects and his brain just goes kablooey.  So I showed him how I break up projects into manageable tasks and map them out on a calendar with the due date highlighted, etc.

We are super hands-off about homework; if you’re capbable of doing it on your own, you do.  And if you don’t, it’s not my problem.  It’s yours.  We don’t deal with teachers about homework, our kids do.  We don’t stand over them each night saying, “Did you do math?  What about science?”  We have assessed that they’re capable of being responsible, so we expect it of them.

This is different.  He is clearly not getting the skills at school he needs to help him learn how to organize himself, so this is something I can help with at home.  We’ll see how it goes.  That, and deep breathing.  Or margaritas.  Whatever 😉

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “OMG This Might Kill Me”

  1. beanie Says:

    So I’m going to put in my unrequested $0.02 here…not that you’re not an amazingly wise and capable woman, but sometimes to pays to give yourself permission to break your own rules.

    Middle school ain’t like elementary school. I think it’s really important to help with with organization and PRIORITIZATION. I’m sure you have wonderfully responsible young people, but my experience is that this isn’t intuitive stuff. I’m glad you’re getting a bit “hands-on” for awhile.

    Double-check and make sure he’s not being teased by someone, as well. In my experience, that causes more tummy aches than algebra and cotton candy combined.

    Good luck!

  2. surflife Says:

    Yep have to agree here – we did the hands off for the first term of what is the equivalent of middle school – his report showed clearly he was struggling — we knew he was academicaly able so we sat down and had a chat and it turns out he was not coping with organisation – spent some time with him on it and a year later he is flying. I would also check that he is not being hasseled – agree tummy aches always seem to have more behind them.

  3. Kelly Says:

    I think a hands-off approach to homework sounds great! Good for you.

    From what I hear though, schools are pressing more and more homework on kids these days?

Comments are closed.


