Things I’m a Snob About Thursday, Early Edition: Put Some Clothes on That Girl

I realize I don’t have a middle-school daughter yet, but seriously?  Have you SEEN what 11,12, & 13 year old girls are wearing?  I don’t care how cute your kid is, I don’t want to see her belly button if she’s older than 3.  If your daughter develops early, here’s a tip:  buy her a real bra.  Not the cami-demi-thingy Vanessa Hudgens wears (FYI: Vanessa is 21.  Your kid is 12.).

If the first thing that comes to mind is Britney, Lindsey or Jessica (or, God Forbid, Madonna) when I see an outfit there is no way on God’s Green Earth my daughter will be wearing it.

I’m sure this post is going to come back and bite me in the ass.  Pretty much the minute my daughter hits 12 and we’re shopping and she has a fit because I’ve picked out a nice Laura Ingalls dress and she’s picked out a Britney/Jessica/Vanessa outfit and I say to her, “Sorry honey, Daddy’s gonna lock you up ’til you’re 40 if you come home wearing that.”

2 Responses to “Things I’m a Snob About Thursday, Early Edition: Put Some Clothes on That Girl”

  1. beanie Says:

    My oldest will be 15 in December and I’m here to tell you: it gets worse.

    My rules are as follows: No belly-buttons. No boob cleavage. No sheer-undergarments-that-leave-nothing-to-imagination in the boobage area (I’m lucky — she likes padded bras). If she wears a skirt, she must be able to bend over and touch her toes without bending her knees and without my seeing her derriere.

    I do allow her to wear camis, with a bra underneath. Apparently, showing your bra straps is not only acceptable, but preferred, these days. I’m all for that, if it means she wears a real bra every day. I also allow her to tie up the back of her t-shirts with hair bands. This makes her father crazy, but I see it as a small trade-off for the other rules. She may also cut weird and patterns and holes in her t-shirts, if she layers a cami or other shirt underneath. Again: drives Dad nuts, but I’m in this to win the war.

    Good luck. And if you haven’t shopped at Plato’s Closet yet, I’ll bear witness that it’s a godsend.

  2. gramomster Says:

    My oldest is 19, and you have it better than I did.

    Jeans thankfully are being made with more than 2 buttons again. Tee shirts are now fashionable if they hit the hips, not the bottom of the ribcage.

    When my daughter was in 7th grade, she went to a charter school that required the girls be able to raise their hands with no belly showing between the shirt and pants. I and some other parents encouraged the administrators to take the girls clothes shopping, as we could not find outfits (in 2003) that would meet these requirement. Not in any store. Not Meijer, not Target, not Penney’s, Sears, Forever 21, Rue 21, Charlotte Russe, Wet Seal, Rave… NOWHERE! We finally got a Plato’s Closet this year, and it is a marvel. Of course, now my daughter is an adult, and an anti-materialist, so when she needs some retail therapy it’s off to Salvation Army or Goodwill. Why not in 7th grade? Why!?

    So, the school kept a supply of size large red t-shirts for the girls who showed belly. Ran out many a day. They also kept a supply of farmer overalls for boys who showed underwear.

    Easier now, more coverage, and leggings under super-short skirts are cool again.

    But if you do find somewhere to get a Laura Ingalls dress, snap that sucker up!

Comments are closed.


