Preschool Theology, Part 2

Overheard in the bath: my daughter Shayna, the daughter of very ideological Reform Jews, and her cousin Maia, who is being raised Orthodox (the girls are the same age – just a few months apart):

Shayna: Maia, guess what?  God lives in my pupik.

Maia, very shocked: SHAYNA! THAT’S NOT TZNIUS (modest)!  Hashem does not live in your pupik!

Shayna: What does that mean?

ME: Maia, what do you mean?

Maia: No one should see you naked!

ME: Maia, you’re right, we should all be modest and careful
about who sees us naked.  But God is there for us whatever we’re wearing.  Remember Adam and Chava were naked.

Maia: Oh yeah.

Shayna: And when you’re dead, you’re naked.

ME: Let’s not go there.

Second Conversation, same bath. Playing with the Noah’s Ark tub toys.

Maia: Give me Noah’s wife.

Shayna: Who’s Noah’s wife?

Maia: She’s right there, give her to me.

Shayna: Oh! There she is! Floating by the taybah [ark]. What’s her name again?

Maia: I don’t know. Aunt Leah, what’s Noah’s wife’s name?

ME: She does not have a name in the Torah. She’s just known as Noah’s wife.

Shayna, indignant, with hands on hips: THAT’S NOT FAIR! WHY DOESN’T SHE HAVE A NAME?

Maia: Well that’s the way Hashem wanted it.

ME: Ladies, could we just get clean here?

Anyone who says young children don’t absorb these kinds of big ideas clearly has not spent time in the bath with these two.  Yes folks, the daughters of an Orthodox Jew and Reform idealogues.  Should be interesting to watch them grow up 🙂

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Preschool Theology, Part 2”

  1. homeshuling Says:

    Great blog!

    I love the juxtaposition of her saying “No one should see you naked” while simultaneously sitting in the bath with her cousin.

  2. homeshuling Says:

    Great blog!

    I love the juxtaposition of her saying “No one should see you naked” while simultaneously sitting in the bath with her cousin.

  3. homeshuling Says:

    Great blog!

    I love the juxtaposition of her saying “No one should see you naked” while simultaneously sitting in the bath with her cousin.

  4. val Says:

    It’s SO cool when these types of conversations happen right in front of you, isn’t it?!!

  5. val Says:

    It’s SO cool when these types of conversations happen right in front of you, isn’t it?!!

  6. val Says:

    It’s SO cool when these types of conversations happen right in front of you, isn’t it?!!

  7. Wendy Says:

    I can relate to this one! Our home is reform, my sister’s home is orthodox. Our children have been having fascinating conversations for years.

    I remember going to my sister’s place in the Catskills, a very orthodox summer community, with the kids. My sister made hamburgers for dinner. They were pre-made thin patties. (we never use pre-made and Andrew makes thick juicy burgers.) One of my children, upon being served, said, “Aunt Amy! Thank you! How’d you know sausage was my favorite?” She smiled to herself, but her daughters, in unison said, “What is sausage?”

  8. Wendy Says:

    I can relate to this one! Our home is reform, my sister’s home is orthodox. Our children have been having fascinating conversations for years.

    I remember going to my sister’s place in the Catskills, a very orthodox summer community, with the kids. My sister made hamburgers for dinner. They were pre-made thin patties. (we never use pre-made and Andrew makes thick juicy burgers.) One of my children, upon being served, said, “Aunt Amy! Thank you! How’d you know sausage was my favorite?” She smiled to herself, but her daughters, in unison said, “What is sausage?”

  9. Wendy Says:

    I can relate to this one! Our home is reform, my sister’s home is orthodox. Our children have been having fascinating conversations for years.

    I remember going to my sister’s place in the Catskills, a very orthodox summer community, with the kids. My sister made hamburgers for dinner. They were pre-made thin patties. (we never use pre-made and Andrew makes thick juicy burgers.) One of my children, upon being served, said, “Aunt Amy! Thank you! How’d you know sausage was my favorite?” She smiled to herself, but her daughters, in unison said, “What is sausage?”

Comments are closed.


